Photography of Roy Thoman

Favorite photo, our first assignment

The first assignment in our portfolio class, was to collect and show six of our favorite photos, that we had taken in the past year. Sounds pretty easy right! Well it is, I guess it’s just stressful trying to find the right photos. It’s still early and we are still not sure how this class is going to go. You want to pick photos that hopefully will be as good as the ones that the rest of the class will be picking.

I wanted to show you the photos that I picked. Oh and I was only allowed to pick six, I am going to post a few additional photos.

10 responses

  1. HI Roy,
    So glad that I am finally seeing what you see through your lens. I am a fan of your work already. You have some really beautiful images. Great variety which means that you can shoot just about everything and make it look professional. So may I ask you why are you taking photography classes? The truth is I am glad, maybe you can help me improve my work. Love the black background and intro page. Keep me updated with your portfolio.
    Dipty

    Like

    September 4, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    • Dipty, you are a very good photographer too. Your portfolio was excellent! I’m taking classes because you can never stop learning. I will help you with your photography , but I think you just need confidence. You do take great photos.

      Like

      September 12, 2012 at 3:27 pm

  2. Nicole

    I have 2 of these pictures hung in my house 🙂 bet you can guess one of them 🙂

    Like

    September 12, 2012 at 9:26 am

  3. Nicole

    Oh I looked again actually 3 of these

    Like

    September 12, 2012 at 9:28 am

    • I liked seeing my work on your walls!

      Like

      September 12, 2012 at 3:20 pm

  4. Angela

    Would the HOTROD pic here be considered a Car Abstract or a Reflections Abstract? hmmmm

    Like

    September 21, 2012 at 1:12 pm

  5. These are great photos for a first assignment. I’ve just taken a 10 week course with Open University, and my first assignment was nowhere near as good as these. Of course, it is a journey and we improve with learning and practice. Until I took up photography in earnest in August of this year, I had only ever done ‘point and click’ holiday photos. I have learnt so much over the past ten weeks. I see I can learn a lot from you, too. Bless you.

    Like

    December 18, 2012 at 7:24 am

    • I saw that you had taken a photography course. I was not sure what photos you did for the course but I was using my phone and it’s harder to see older posts. Anyway I didn’t take those photos for the assignment, they were just photos that I had taken over the past year, just to get a feel for our photographic interests. I had a great time with my class and I really learned a lot. That was not the only class I was taking. I have been working on my photography certificate for the past 2 years. That was my last class though. It is a journey an its a never ending journey. You have taken some nice photos! You have a good eye. I’m always ready to share my photographic experience, that’s the best way to learn.

      Like

      December 18, 2012 at 10:43 pm

      • Thank you, Roy, for taking the time to reply. I must say that your photography courses have paid dividends – your work is beautiful. Thank you, too, for the offer of sharing your experience with me. I’m always grateful for any suggestions to improve my photography skills. Bless you. Wishing you a peaceful, joy-filled Christmastime.

        Like

        December 19, 2012 at 6:43 am

  6. JK Bevill - Lost Creek Publishing

    Reblogged this on lost creek publishing.

    Like

    April 26, 2013 at 2:59 am

Leave a Reply

