Photography of Roy Thoman

Visual Art Journaling

Our second assignment was to create one photographic image, where you have combined words with one of your photographs.Sounds easy enough, just take a photo and add some words to it right! Then Marilyn, our instructor said that she wanted us to make this photo say something about us as a photographer. Well this had me stumped for a while. I wasn’t sure how to make a photo say something about me. Most of my photos say something about what I’m seeing. Now I need to say something about me. So how am I going to do that? I think I was over thinking it, I could not come up with anything for the longest time. Then one day I was walking through the house and out of the corner of my eye I saw something that made a light go off in my head. I wasn’t thinking about the photo I needed to create for class at that point in time. I was just going about my day. We have a small table that has a magazine rack on the side of it. Sitting on this table there is an old photo of my wife and I. The magazine rack had a travel magazine, my wife and I like to travel, and a photography magazine, I of course like photography. So as I was walking by this scene I saw the photo that I wanted to create for my visual art journaling assignment.

This is the photo that I saw as I was walking by. The words I wrote were how this image was making me feel as I was creating it.

So as your struggling hard to come up with an idea, don’t worry too much, you may just relax your mind enough to let it find one for you.

Leave a Reply

