Photography of Roy Thoman

Beginning my portfolio

There is one more sample portfolio that I would like to show you. I like architectural abstracts, I have not photographed very many of them before, so I thought I would give it a try. We were in downtown Titusville the other day and I saw a few good architectural photos that I wanted to shoot. I have found that to get the shadows falling the way I want them to, I need to shoot between 11am and 2pm, anything that I have ever learned about photography says that you need to put the camera away during that time of day. For the most part that’s true, I don’t normally shoot during that time of day. This is one time where you really need to take the camera off of automatic and shoot manually. Your cameras meter is going to be fooled into over exposing your photos. I have been under exposing these as much as a full stop to get the look that I want.

6 responses

  1. I really do think that you have done an amazing job so far! I love these images, they are quite beautiful.

    Like

    September 20, 2012 at 7:56 pm

  2. Cassy Adams

    I really like these. You made Titusville look very elegant!

    Like

    September 24, 2012 at 1:41 pm

  3. Don

    Really enjoyed the images, clean, ordered and rational.

    Like

    October 12, 2012 at 8:14 am

  4. Thank you for visiting my blog and for liking several posts! You have interesting work posted here. I look forward to seeing more. Please stop by my blog again soon!

    Like

    October 12, 2012 at 12:32 pm

    • You have some great images too! I will be stopping by you’re blog again.

      Like

      October 15, 2012 at 3:09 am

Leave a Reply

