Photography of Roy Thoman

Space Coast Birding and Wildlife Festival 2013

A week in the life a SCBWF photographer

I have spent the past week as a photographer for the Space Coast Birding and Wildlife Festival. It was a great week for birding! The weather was fantastic! I got the chance to speak with many of the festival attendees. Many of them were from northern parts of the country, caught in the grip of a frigid cold snap, seeing temperatures well below zero! They all agreed it was way better to be birding in Florida. The birds were great as well, I will need to check the festival stats to see how many species were counted at this years festival. I was able to add a few new birds to my short, but growing life list. I’m more of a photographer than a birder, but I’m learning. It was a long and grueling week. My days started well before dawn and ended well past sunset. It took me a whole day of rest to recover! It was well worth the effort, I met lots of great people and took lots of photographs (over 2,600). It’s going to take me a while to get all of the photos ready, but as I do I’m going to share some of them, as well as my experiences here. This years SCBWF was awesome! This is my second year as a festival photographer, I have spent many years prior to that as a festival attendee. I always have a great time at the festival. I hope you will enjoy my thoughts and photos as much as I have enjoyed creating them.

Central Florida Specialties_Jan272013_0046

16 responses

  1. Oh what a fantastic picture! I wish of course that they didn’t have to be there, but what a great shot of what they face for us! 😀

    Like

    January 30, 2013 at 7:58 pm

    • Thank You Keli, This was not a fire, although we have them here regularly. This is a group of birders in a foggy sunrise.

      Like

      January 31, 2013 at 12:47 am

  2. LB

    What a very cool picture … I can see tall grasses, cameras, tripod and great color!

    Like

    January 31, 2013 at 12:11 am

    • Thank You LB! This was one of my faves. It was a great day for birds as well.

      Like

      January 31, 2013 at 12:50 am

  3. lokithecat

    I guess you and Nanny have something in common… learning about birds! Thanks for liking our blog… And we cannot wait to see your photos. Very nice shot of the birders!

    Like

    January 31, 2013 at 2:32 pm

    • Thanks for stopping by my blog! Good for Nanny!

      Like

      January 31, 2013 at 3:47 pm

  4. Great picture, Roy!! I look forward to see your bird pictures! 🙂

    Like

    January 31, 2013 at 5:29 pm

    • Thank You Calee! My job was to take photos of birders and not birds, so I didn’t get many bird photos. 😦

      Like

      February 4, 2013 at 5:08 pm

      • OK! But still interesting, and maybe I can learn some tricks by looking at how others do it.. 🙂

        Like

        February 4, 2013 at 5:13 pm

      • Yes I’m sure you will. I got sidetracked with the Baltimore thing, I’ll get back to birding next.

        Like

        February 5, 2013 at 1:06 am

  5. Una Gran Toma… Y Una Envidia Sana… Espero Que Las Fotografías Mereciesen La Pena,… Un Saludo…

    Like

    February 1, 2013 at 4:20 pm

    • Muchas gracias Jose! Soy envidioso de sus hermosas fotos también.

      Like

      February 4, 2013 at 5:17 pm

  6. Angela

    Did you learn about the birds and the birders on this assignment?

    Like

    February 6, 2013 at 5:29 pm

  7. That’s a very cool photo! Birders are very dedicated getting out early.

    Like

    February 22, 2013 at 8:00 am

    • Thank you, Catherine! Oh yes birders get up very early! They are a very dedicated bunch that’s for sure.

      Like

      February 22, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Leave a Reply

